Kansas Rural Opportunity Zone Student Loan Repayment

I would like expert help and advise with this application
To Be Eligible …
  • Rural Opportunity Zones are 77 counties that have been authorized to offer one or both of the following financial incentives to new full-time residents:
         • Kansas income tax waivers for up to five years
         • Student loan repayments up to $15,00000

To be eligible for Kansas income tax waivers, individuals must have:

  • established residency in a ROZ county on or after the date the county became part of the program (Please note that these dates vary by county. To learn what dates specific counties became eligible for the income tax waivers, please visit our FAQs page).
  • lived outside Kansas for five or more years immediately prior to establishing residency in a ROZ county
  • earned less than $10,000 in Kansas Source Income in each of the five years immediately prior to establishing residency in a ROZ county

To be eligible for student loan repayments, individuals must:

  • establish residency in a ROZ county after July 1, 2011 and on or after the date on which the county opts-in to the student loan program
  • hold an associate’s, bachelor’s or post-graduate degree
  • have an outstanding student loan balance
Loans That Qualify
  • Stafford loans
  • Grad PLUS loans
  • Consolidation loans
  • Perkins loans
Next Steps

 You can complete an application here.

For more information about the state income tax exemption, click here or contact:
Kansas Department of Revenue
Office of Policy and Research
(785) 296-3081

Tags: ,